You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.
Distinguished Professor Awards

Each year, Lander University chooses one of its faculty members to be honored as its Distinguished Professor of the Year. This award is given in recognition of that faculty member's exemplary performance as a classroom teacher, as a scholar in his or her chosen field of study, and service to Lander University and beyond.

The award consists of a medallion, which the recipient retains for the academic year in which the award is given. At the end of that year, the recipient turns over the medallion to the next recipient and in its replace receives a commemorative plaque.

Distinguished Professor Award Recipients

2022 Elizabeth Snipes-Rochester
2021 Misty Jameson
2020 Mandy Cleveland
2019 Franklin Rausch
2018 Sean Barnette
2017 Gina P. Dunn
2016 Gail D. Moore
2015 Timothy D. Maze
2014 Kevin B. Witherspoon
2013 Lillian E. Craton
2012 Samuel H. Tolbert
2011 Jonathan Bassett
2010 Mary Paige Ouzts
2009 Dava M. O'Connor
2008 Marshall Lynn Deanhardt
2007 Robert F. Stevenson
2006 James E. Benton
2005 Ralph C. Layland
2004 Michael E. Sonntag
2003 Andre' M. Lubecke
2002 Deborah M. Natvig
2001 Fordyce G. Lux, III
2000 Joseph D. Sloan
1999 Marilyn Mecca
1998 Jerald Hawkins
1997 Judy Bates
1996 Roxanna Albury
1995 Royce Caines
1994 Paul Criswell
1993 David Henderson
1992 Joe Chandler
1991 Marianne Lenti
1990 Doris Fitzgerald
1989 Gilbert Guinn
1988 Anthony Lenti
1987 Bruce White
1986 No Award Given
1985 Richard Fox
1984 Bettie Horne
1983 Edward J. Stampf, Jr.
1982 Lee Archie
1981 Janet Sipple
1980 Robert Phillips
1979 Larry Joe Cook
1978 Sheila Marino
1977 Joe Chandler
1977 Samrendra Singh
1977 Peter Vahjen
1976 No Award Given
1975 No Award Given
1974 Mary Lynn Polk
1974 M. F. Lide
1973 Herbert Ellis
1972 Howard Bateson
1971 John Hindman
1970 Harry Irwin
1969 Ann Warner


Young Faculty Scholar Award

This award is given annually to a young faculty member with the best record of scholarship.

Young Faculty Scholar Award Recipients

2022 Zach Rubin
2021 Jeff Barfield
2020 Pragya Sharma Ghimire
2019 Amir Bhochhibhoya
2018 Daniel Kavish
2017 Diana Delach
2016 Farha Ali
2015 Franklin Rausch
2014 M. Ryan Floyd
2013 Albert D. Dukes, III
2012 Kerry Hansknecht
2011 Lucas McMillan
2010 Lilian Craton
2009 Kevin Witherspoon
2008 Lloyd Willis
2007 Gilliean Lee
2006 Jonathan Bassett
2005 Robert Stevenson


Young Faculty Teaching Award

This award is given annually to a young faculty member who demonstrates the qualities associated with effective teaching. Each applicant for the award must prepare a portfolio which documents the following:

  • Substantive innovative use of methods of teaching, including technology, when appropriate.
  • A strong record of attendance and participation in conferences and other professional venues that address teaching.
  • Evidence that the faculty member has incorporated relevant and recent developments in the field, where appropriate, into courses taught.
  • Quality of publications, presentations, exhibitions or performances at state, regional and national conferences or other professional venues.
Young Faculty Teaching Award Recipients

2022 Ashton Davis
2021 Tess Gemberling
2020 Michelle Deady
2019 Shana Southard-Dobbs
2018 Matthew Peters
2017 Joshua Brooks
2016 Diana Delach
2015 Amanda Cleveland
2014 Chad Kinsella
2013 Douglas McAbee
2012 M. Ryan Floyd
2011 Cynthia Gardner
2010 Gail Moore
2009 Lillian Craton
2008 Leslie Myers
2007 Willis Lewis
2006 Leisa Myers Igleheart
2005 Pamela Wash