You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Suitcase of Courage Founder Named Young Alumni Award Winner by Lander University

Cameron DornLander University's Alumni Association has selected Cameron Dorn '10 of Waterloo as recipient of its Young Alumni Award.

The award is presented annually to an alumna or alumnus who has graduated within the past 15 years; has distinguished themselves in their chosen field; is involved with civic, cultural, educational or church activities; and has manifested special interest in Lander University with their time, talents and resources.

After earning his business degree with a marketing management emphasis from Lander in 2010, Dorn received a master's in international business from the University of Winchester in the United Kingdom.

The founder of the Suitcase of Courage LLC, Dorn has won 43 endurance races, two national championships in duathlon and triathlon, and set two Guinness World Records in 2014 for the most amount of Burpees (the hardest exercise known to man) completed in 12 and 24 hour sessions.

In setting the two Guinness World Records, Dorn raised $17,000, which was divided equally between Ware Shoals High School and Seeds of Hope in Peru, a program offering a wide range of support for Peruvian children living in extreme poverty.

Dorn founded the Suitcase of Courage LLC in 2012 and has consulted with companies nationwide to build unique and custom corporate wellness programs with a focus on eliminating musculoskeletal injuries in the workplace. He has been listed as one of Men's Health Magazine's "15 Ultimate Guys of 2015," and has been featured on ESPN, Fox News, CBS News, Buzzfeed and the Huffington Post. Today, the Suitcase of Courage has operations in seven states and includes three Lander graduates among its employees.

In 2015, Dorn and three other Lander graduates created The Suitcase of Courage Scholarship at Lander. Joining Dorn in endowing the $10,000 scholarship for business students were Dylan Potts '10; Piers DeGruchy '11; and Jarrod Moody 12.