Lander Students Honored During Academic Awards Ceremony
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Learnmore Jeremia and Ralph Layland
Professor of Chemistry Dr. Ralph Layland, chair of the Department of Physical Sciences, congratulates Learnmore Jeremia, of Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, on winning the Science Scholar Award, during Lander University’s recent academic awards ceremony. Photo by Laura Brown

Fifty-eight awards were conferred upon outstanding students at Lander University’s April 25 academic awards ceremony, held in the Josephine B. Abney Cultural Center Auditorium.

“Our student award winners represent what we seek to accomplish with our students, and that is to prepare them for meaningful lives of inquiry and service,” said Dr. Scott Jones, Lander provost and vice president for Academic Affairs.

Award winners are listed below by college.

College of Arts and Humanities

  • Art Discipline Award: Stacie Lazo, of Greenwood.
  • English Discipline Award: Jing Ren, of Qingdao, China and Eden Weidman, of North Augusta.
  • French Discipline Award: Zhiyi Lin, of Maspeth, N.Y..
  • Alliance Française Award: Delshawn Anderson, of McCormick.
  • Spanish Discipline Award: Mattia Galanti, of Roteglia, Italy.
  • Creative Writing Award for Fiction: Margaret Gustafson, of Elgin.
  • Dessie Dean Pitts Humanities Award: Devon Bowie, of Abbeville.
  • Margaret M. Bryant Award: Sarah Alexander, of Edgefield.
  • Mass Communication and Media Studies Discipline Award: Daniel Hudson, of Irmo.
  • Music Discipline Award: Taylor Baxley, of Andrews, and Absalon Richardson, of Anderson.
  • Music Discipline Award: Absalon Richardson.

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

  • Criminology Discipline Award, and Sociology Discipline Award: Kaitlynn Strahl, of Elgin.
  • Political Science Discipline Award: Hunter Banks, of Pickens.
  • Alan Jones Award: Caleb Moss, of Ware Shoals.
  • Display of Outstanding Sociological Imagination Award: Jordan Fowler, of Moore.
  • International Studies Award: Hannah Cowan, of Blythewood.
  • Human Services Award: Morgan Foster, of Rock Hill.
  • Non-Profit Management Award: Brooke Trotter, of Boiling Springs.
  • Public Administration Award: Courtney Cannon, of Mauldin.
  • History Discipline Award: Davis Dickey, of Ninety Six.
  • Philosophy Discipline Award: Jing Ren of Qingdao, China.
  • Margaret M. Bryant Award: Savannah Avery, of Clinton.
  • Barbara A. Jackson Award: Jesse Sanborn, of Beaufort, and Matthew Woodyard, of Greenwood.
  • Psychology Discipline Award: Savannah Medford, of Ninety Six.
  • Outstanding Departmental Service Award in Psychological Science: Savannah Medford and Megan Roeben, of Rock Hill.
  • Psi Chi Undergraduate Research Award: J. Perrin Rickenbaker, of Greenwood.

College of Business

  • Accounting Discipline Award: Brooke Blackwood, of Abbeville.
  • Financial Services Discipline Award: Nicolas Weaver, of Charlotte, N.C..
  • Health Care Management Discipline Award: Taylor Sofaly of West Columbia.
  • Management/Marketing Discipline Award: Hannah Leister, of Greenwood.

College of Education

  • Early Childhood Education Discipline Award: Beth Satterwhite-Kunkle, of Newberry.
  • Elementary Education Discipline Award: Mandi Cleveland, of Honea Path.
  • Secondary Education Discipline Award: Jordan Bowen, of West Columbia.
  • Special Education Discipline Award: Megan Brown, of Anderson.
  • Exercise Science Discipline Award: Michelle Wilson, of Roebuck.
  • Physical Education Discipline Award: Kristin Hutchins, of Lexington.
  • Excellence in Exercise Science Award: Savannah Ange, of Cheraw.

College of Science and Mathematics

  • Biology Discipline Award: Katie Whiten, of Pelzer.
  • Nell Henry Award: Jared Newsom, of Lexington.
  • Science Scholar Award (Biology, Freshman): Jennifer Wilson, of Anderson.
  • Science Scholar Award (Biology, Upperclassman): Jordan Bates, of Beaufort.
  • Computer Information Systems Discipline Award: Lillian Martin, of Chapin.
  • Mathematics Discipline Award: Kaleb Lodge, of Troy.
  • Mathematical Association of America Award: Charnae Wilson, of Lexington.
  • Mathematics C.I.S. Engineering Dual Degree Award and Physics — Calculus Discipline Award: Sovanroth Ou, of Ninety Six.
  • Physics — Algebra Discipline Award: Liam Roos, of Amsterdam, The Netherlands.
  • Chemistry Discipline Award: Cullen Orcutt, of Mount Pleasant.
  • Chemistry Secondary Education Discipline Award: Bethany Bonds, of Greenwood.
  • Chemistry and Engineering Dual Degree Award: Brandon Vasquez, of Saluda.
  • Forensic Science Discipline Award: Laura Maly, of Simpsonville.
  • Environmental Science Discipline Award: Karla Coffey, of Ninety Six.
  • Science Scholar Award (Physical Sciences, Freshman): Katie Abare, of Greenville.
  • Science Scholar Award (Physical Sciences, Upperclassman): Learnmore Jeremia, of Bulawayo, Zimbabwe.

William Preston Turner School of Nursing

  • RN-BSN Discipline Award: Kirkley Curtis, of Lexington.
  • Prelicensure Nursing Discipline Award and Barbara T. Freese Scholarly Development Award: Stephanie Drake, of Prosperity.

Honors College

  • Honors Pin Recipients: Sarah Alexander, of Edgefield; Mia Spires, of Cayce; James Dean Whitt, of Gray Court.
  • Honors Medal Recipients: Delshawn Anderson, of McCormick; Elizabeth Aydlette, of Charleston; Kevin Brazell, of Gaston; Jacob Kade Bryant, of Starr; Breanna Butler, of Bradley; Teresa Cearley, of Stamford, Ct.; Mary Stephanie Drake, of Prosperity; Ivey Gibbs, of Charleston; Haley Histon, of Greenville; Daniel Hudson, of Irmo; Hannah Leister, of Greenwod; Rachel Marrah, of Greenville; Lillian Martin, of Chapin; Bryan Patterson, of Clover; Brooke Trotter, of Boiling Springs; Kathryn Warnken, of North Augusta; Nicolas Weaver, of Charlotte, N.C.; Frances Weiland, of Goose Creek.