Students Recognized in Lander Honors and Awards Program
Thursday, May 02, 2019
COBSS awards program
Dr. Ashley Woodiwiss, chair of Lander University’s Department of Government, Criminology, and Sociology, congratulates Morgan Foster, of Rock Hill, on being inducted into the Alpha Kappa Delta International Sociology Honor Society, as Brooke Trotter, of Boiling Springs, looks on, during the College of Behavioral and Social Science’s honors and awards program. Photo by Laura Brown

Lander University’s College of Behavioral and Social Sciences recently held its annual honors and awards program, recognizing outstanding students majoring in criminology, political science, sociology, history, philosophy, military science and psychological science.

“The students that we honor here tonight represent the best among the Lander student body. They have excelled in the classroom, and they have excelled beyond it,” said Associate Professor of Political Science Dr. Lucas McMillan, who serves as dean of the college.

McMillan said that the students “are doing so much in our Greenwood community and far beyond it. They are involved in research that takes them to national conferences. They are involved in internships that have them practicing what they are learning in classes, both near our campus and way beyond it, and we are excited to gather here together to celebrate all of that. To our students, we are proud of you. To our scholarship donors who are here tonight, we are so very grateful for you and your support of us. To our internship supervisors, thank you for assisting our students in extending their skills, furthering their professionalism, and helping them evaluate the opportunities that they have after they cross the stage at commencement.”

Criminology students recognized included Macy Sinner, of Lake Wales, Fla., the recipient of the Walter Lanier Gorham Criminology Scholarship. Morgan Foster, of Rock Hill, won the Human Services Award; Brooke Trotter, of Boiling Springs, won the Non-Profit Management Award; and Kaitlynn Strahl, of Elgin, won the Criminology Discipline Award.

Students awarded political science scholarships included Kara Dorrity, of Summerville, recipient of the Robbie Barnes Scholarship; Amira Abdelwahab, of Greenwood, and James Hawthorne, of Pelzer, recipients of the Bill and Emily Bradford Scholarship; and Jake Powell, of Greer, recipient of the Louise W. McMullin Scholarship. The W.D. Tinsley Scholarship was awarded jointly to Sarah Grigg, of Gaffney, and Marie Drewno, of Nebo, N.C.

Award-winning political science students included Caleb Moss, of Ware Shoals, winner of the Alan Jones Award; Hannah Cowan, of Blythewood, winner of the International Studies Award; Courtney Cannon, of Mauldin, winner of the Public Administration Award; and Hunter Banks, of Pickens, winner of the Political Science Discipline Award.

Sociology scholarship winners included Morgan Foster, the recipient of the Alumni Departmental Scholarship, and Mitchell Felton, the recipient of the Greenwood Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Board Scholarship. Sharing the Dr. Maybelle Coleman Scholarship were Brooke Tipton, of North Augusta; Jordan Fowler, of Moore, and Brooke Trotter.

Sociology award winners were Jordan Fowler, recipient of the Display of Outstanding Sociological Imagination Award; Morgan Foster, recipient of the Human Services Award; and Kaitlynn Strahl, recipient of the Sociology Discipline Award.

The Department of History and Philosophy awarded 10 new scholarships. Recipients included Ashley Hampton, of Anderson, Alumni Departmental Scholarship; Aaron Herrick, of Summerville, E. Don Herd, Jr. Scholarship; Abigail Piper, of Simpsonville, Dr. Gilbert Sumter Guinn Scholarship; Abby Silon, of Barnwell, Murrell J. Huckabee Scholarship; Cameron Blake Pate-Addie, of Piedmont, William T. Lander, Jr. Scholarship; Gemma Perez, of Simpsonville, Dr. John Marvin Rast Scholarship; and Macy Gault, of Gaffney, W.D. Tinsley Scholarship. Scholarships awarded to more than one recipient included the Mary Neel Baker Scholarship, awarded to Abby Timmerman, of Ninety Six, Christopher Coppinger, of Walhalla, and Aaron Herrick; the Barbara Jackson Scholarship, awarded to Madison Corley, of Lexington, and Arielle Wilder, of Ware Shoals; and the Dr. William F. Ricketson Scholarship, awarded to Caroline Cawthon, of Greenville, Cameron Meadows, of Taylors, and Robert Wohlfarth, of Columbia.

History and philosophy faculty members also presented four awards. Winning the Barbara A. Jackson Award were Matthew Woodyard, of Greenwood, and Jesse Sanborn, of Beaufort. Savannah Avery, of Clinton, won the Margaret M Bryant Award; Davis Dickey, of Ninety Six, won the History Discipline Award; and Jing Ren, of Qingdao, China, won the Philosophy Award.

Army ROTC Awards were conferred upon military science students Isaac Auzenne, of Blythewood, and Strom Hawkins, of Greenwood, with Auzenne winning the Col. James A. Lander Award, and Hawkins winning the Lt. Col. Walter Roark Award.

Students receiving Department of Psychological Science scholarships included Mekensie Therrien, of Gray Court, who was awarded the Alumni Departmental Scholarship; Kathryn Thorpe, of Greenwood, who was awarded the Greenwood Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Board Scholarship; and Julia Burdette, of Ware Shoals, who was awarded the Dr. William T. Martin Scholarship. Winning the Outstanding Departmental Service Awards were Savannah Medford, of Ninety Six, and Megan Roeben, of Rock Hill. Perrin Rickenbaker, of Greenwood, won the Psi Chi Undergraduate Research Award, and Savannah Medford won the Psychology Discipline Award.

Dean’s Awards were presented to Hannah Cowan, of Blythewood; Ivey Gibbs, of Charleston; Tammy Kullnat, of Greenwood; and Kaitlynn Strahl.