Filter News
tree lighting ceremony
tree lighting ceremony

Lander University’s fourth annual Holiday Tree Lighting Ceremony was “an outstanding event,” according to Lander President Richard Cosentino.

Thursday, November 29, 2018
Chaz Giles and Hannah Gallant
Chaz Giles and Hannah Gallant

It wasn’t quite enough for Chaz Giles to win twice for the same entry in Lander University’s 2018 spring Film Festival. This autumn, the Lander senior took first place again for his short film “Amore Mio Per La Cena” in the first annual College Broadcasters, Inc., Visual Media Festival in Seattle, Washington.

Monday, November 26, 2018
graduates walking
graduates walking

More than 220 graduates are expected to receive their degrees on Tuesday, Dec. 18, during Lander University’s 158th Commencement Exercises, beginning at 11 a.m. in Finis Horne Arena.

Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Photo of Kimberly Richburg
Photo of Kimberly Richburg

On Tuesday, Nov. 14, Dr. Kimberly Richburg, associate professor of political science at Lander University, provided students and community members with a uniquely in-depth and personal accounting of the groundbreaking Briggs v. Elliott case of 1952. 

Thursday, November 15, 2018
Photo of Miss Lander Finalists
Photo of Miss Lander Finalists

Hannah Courtney Wilson had never been in a pageant before, but that didn’t stop her from being named Miss Lander University 2018-2019, following this year’s pageant, held Monday, Nov. 12, in the Josephine B. Abney Cultural Center Auditorium.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018
lander tower
lander tower

The Lander University Board of Trustees will hold a meeting via conference call on Thursday, Nov. 15, at 10 a.m. in the F. Mitchell Johnson Board Room. 

Tuesday, November 13, 2018
students being deployed
students being deployed

Lander University hosted its annual Veterans Day program on Friday, Nov. 9, honoring veterans and students who will deploy overseas.

Monday, November 12, 2018
Photo of Kimberly Richburg
Photo of Kimberly Richburg

The community will have the opportunity to learn more about the South Carolina case which later inspired Brown v. Board of Education. Dr. Kimberly Richburg, associate professor of political science at Lander, will hold a public lecture on Briggs v. Elliott, and the part it played in ending racial segregation in public schools in the United States. 

Thursday, November 8, 2018
Photo of Civic Engagement panelists
Photo of Civic Engagement panelists

The day after voters cast their ballots in the 2018 midterm elections, Lander University hosted a panel discussion designed to spark conversations about civic engagement. Approximately 250 students and community members attended the Wednesday, Nov. 7, event held in Lander’s Abney Cultural Center Auditorium.

Thursday, November 8, 2018
hall of heroes stage
hall of heroes stage

“Without these heroes and their families, the United States of America would not be what it is today,” said Barbara Livingston, wife of South Carolina Adjutant General Robert Livingston, just before 17 veterans were inducted into the Greenwood County Hall of Heroes on Sunday, Nov. 4.

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Pages