Distinguished Professor Awards

Each year, Lander University chooses one of its faculty members to be honored as its Distinguished Professor of the Year.  This award is given in recognition of that faculty member's exemplary performance as a classroom teacher, as a scholar in his or her chosen field of study, and service to Lander University and beyond.

The award consists of a medallion, which the recipient retains for the academic year in which the award is given.  At the end of that year,  the recipient turns over the medallion to the next recipient and in its replace receives a commemorative plaque.

Distinguished Professor Award Recipients

2021    Misty Jameson
2020    Mandy Cleveland
2019    Franklin Rausch
2018    Sean Barnett
2017    Gina P. Dunn
2016    Gail D. Moore
2015    Timothy D. Maze
2014    Kevin B. Witherspoon
2013    Lillian E. Craton
2012    Samuel H. Tolbert
2011    Jonathan Bassett
2010    Mary Paige Ouzts
2009    Dava M. O'Connor
2008    Marshall Lynn Deanhardt
2007    Robert F. Stevenson
2006    James E. Benton
2005    Ralph C. Layland
2004    Michael E. Sonntag
2003    Andre' M. Lubecke
2002    Deborah M. Natvig
2001    Fordyce G. Lux, III
2000    Joseph D. Sloan
1999    Marilyn Mecca
1998    Jerald Hawkins
1997    Judy Bates
1996    Roxanna Albury
1995    Royce Caines
1994    Paul Criswell
1993    David Henderson
1992    Joe Chandler
1991    Marianne Lenti
1990    Doris Fitzgerald
1989    Gilbert Guinn
1988    Anthony Lenti
1987    Bruce White
1986    No Award Given
1985    Richard Fox
1984    Bettie Horne
1983    Edward J. Stampf, Jr.
1982    Lee Archie
1981    Janet Sipple
1980    Robert Phillips
1979    Larry Joe Cook
1978    Sheila Marino
1977    Joe Chandler
1977    Samrendra Singh
1977    Peter Vahjen
1976    No Award Given
1975    No Award Given
1974    Mary Lynn Polk
1974    M. F. Lide
1973    Herbert Ellis
1972    Howard Bateson
1971    John Hindman
1970    Harry Irwin
1969    Ann Warner

Young Faculty Awards

Young Faculty Scholar Award

This award is given annually to a young faculty member with the best record of scholarship.

Young Faculty Scholar Award Recipients

2021    Jeff Barfield

2020    Pragya Sharma Ghimire

2019    Amir Bhochhibhoya

2018    Daniel Kavish

2017    Diana Delach

2016    Farha Ali

2015    Franklin Rausch

2014    M. Ryan Floyd

2013    Albert D. Dukes, III

2012    Kerry Hansknecht

2011    Lucas McMillan

2010    Lilian Craton

2009    Kevin Witherspoon

2008    Lloyd Willis

2007    Gilliean Lee

2006    Jonathan Bassett

2005    Robert Stevenson

Young Faculty Teaching Award

This award is given annually to a young faculty member who demonstrates the qualities associated with effective teaching. Each applicant for the award must prepare a portfolio which documents the following:

  • Substantive innovative use of methods of teaching, including technology, when appropriate.
  • A strong record of attendance and participation in conferences and other professional venues that address teaching.
  • Evidence that the faculty member has incorporated relevant and recent developments in the field, where appropriate, into courses taught.
  • Quality of publications, presentations, exhibitions or performances at state, regional and national conferences or other professional venues.
Young Faculty Teaching Award Recipients

2021    Tess Gemberling

2020    Michelle Deady

2019    Shana Southard-Dobbs

2018    Matthew Peters

2017    Joshua Brooks

2016    Diana Delach

2015    Amanda Cleveland

2014    Chad Kinsella

2013    Douglas McAbee

2012    M. Ryan Floyd

2011    Cynthia Gardner

2010    Gail Moore

2009    Lillian Craton

2008    Leslie Myers

2007    Willis Lewis

2006    Leisa Myers Igleheart

2005    Pamela Wash