Members of the Diversity Advisory Council advise not only the President’s Cabinet but also Faculty Senate, Staff Senate and student groups, as needed, on the important role that diversity plays in helping Lander University carry out its mission. Members of the Council have the opportunity to greatly influence and effect positive change on campus for many years to come.

Appointees’ primary role is representative. All appointees are to represent the diversity interests of the Lander Community. Some appointees are also official representatives of a division or group. Members are encouraged to be magnanimous in their advocacy for all of Lander’s diversity interests.

 

Council Appointees and Roles

Chair

  • Appointed by the Council.
  • Facilitates the council’s agenda, discussions and focus on objectives.

Council Liaison

  • Appointed by Council.
  • Primary spokesperson for the Council.

Administrative Support

  • Provides administrative and communications support to the committee. Takes minutes of meetings. Keeps a record of the Council’s work. Helps with event and communications planning

 

Council Representatives

Org Chart (PDF)

 

Individual Representatives

Crystal Rookard

Crystal Rookard
(Chair)

General Council
crookard@lander.edu

Holisa Wharton

Holisa Wharton

Dean, School of Nursing
hwharton@lander.edu

Pedro J. Lopes

Associate Professor of Spanish
plopes@lander.edu

Gilliean Lee

Associate Professor of Computing
glee@lander.edu

DeCole Shoemate Robertson

DeCole Shoemate Robertson

Assistant Women's Basketball Coach
dshoemate@lander.edu

Olgethia Louden

Olgethia Louden

Administrative Specialist, Financial Aid
olouden@lander.edu

Keith McCaslan

Keith McCaslan

Instructional Technology Consultant
kmccaslan@lander.edu

Greg Allen

Greg Allen

Captain, Lander University Police Department
gallen@lander.edu

Fathima A. Nazim-Starnes

Fathima A. Nazim-Starnes

Assistant Professor of Art
fnazimstarnes@lander.edu

London Thomas

London Thomas

Interim Human Resources Director
lthomas@lander.edu

   

Functionary Representatives

Albert Dukes III

Albert Dukes III

Faculty Senate Chair
Assistant Professor of Chemistry

adukes@lander.edu

Jim Colbert

Jim Colbert

Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
jcolbert@lander.edu

Michael Ficklin

Michael Ficklin

Staff Senate Chair
Systems Programmer/Developer, Information Technology Services

mficklin@lander.edu

Jeff Constant

Jeff Constant

Associate Director of Admissions/Director of International Credentials
jconstant@lander.edu

Madison Marriott

President, Student Government Association
madison.marriott@lander.edu

Boyd Yarbrough

Boyd Yarbrough

Vice President for Student Affairs
byarbrough@lander.edu

Denise Manley

Denise Manley

Executive Director for Alumni Affairs
dmanley@lander.edu

Sadie Erwin

Sadie Erwin
(Administrative Support)

Executive Assistant to the President
serwin@lander.edu

 

Community Representatives

Darrell Johnson

Darrell Johnson

Superintendent, Greenwood School District 50
Phone: 864-941-5400

Welborn Adams

Welborn Adams

Mayor, City of Greenwood, S.C.
welborn.adams@cityofgreenwoodsc.com

Floyd Nicholson

Floyd Nicholson

S.C. Senator (Dist. 10)
fnicholson@lander.edu

Theo Lane

Theo Lane

District Manager - Government & Community Relations Duke Energy (South Carolina)
Theo.Lane@duke-energy.com