# **Lander University Committee Assignments**

Monday, September 18, 2023

## Tenure and Promotion Committee (2023-2024)

Appointed By: Election per Faculty Handbook Reports To President

### Membership

The University Tenure and Promotion Committee shall consist of tenured faculty members who are not deans or department chairs and who will not apply for promotion or serve on the Faculty Senate during their term of office. The committee will have one member from each college or school. In the event of an even number of colleges and schools, an additional atlarge member will be elected. Committee members shall serve three-year, non-consecutive staggered terms. The chair of the committee will be elected from among its members at its first meeting of the year.

#### **Function**

The primary role of the University Tenure and Promotion Committee is to evaluate the extent to which all university criteria for tenure and promotion have been met and to ensure that due process has been followed at all stages of the review process. The committee is a non-policy-making committee that will apply the procedures and policies of the Faculty Handbook in making tenure and promotion recommendations to the president of the university.

#### **Election Process**

The department representative from each department in a college/school that needs to elect a University Tenure and Promotion Committee member will be responsible for providing the Elections Committee by March 1 with an accurate list of potentially eligible nominees who are willing to serve on the University Tenure and Promotion Committee.

Faculty from each college or school will be eligible to nominate and vote for the member from their respective college or school, and all faculty will be eligible to nominate and vote for an at-large member. If no member of a college or school is both eligible and willing to serve on the committee, the committee shall have a member nominated and elected for a one-year term by the faculty of that college or school. This member may be re-elected for a maximum of three consecutive one-year terms. The nomination and election process may be held using online voting methods (e.g., Blackboard). The Tenure and Promotion Committee election process shall be completed immediately before the spring nomination and election of Faculty Senators. A majority vote is needed for election. Should one or more posts remain to be filled after any ballot, another ballot shall be held. The slate for second and succeeding ballots shall include twice the number of candidates as there are posts to be filled. These candidates shall be those receiving the highest numbers of votes on the previous ballot.

Source - Faculty Handbook Revision 5-2020

Source: Faculty Handbook

Member	Title / Role	Term of Service
Judith Neufeld (Chair)	Professor of Education / COE	Spring 2025
Jonathan Bassett	Professor of Psychology / COBSS	Spring 2026
Lisa Brodhacker	Professor of Chemistry / COSM	Spring 2026
Ann Butler	Senior Lecturer in Biology / At-Large Non-Tenured	Spring 2024
Pedro Lopes	Professor of Spanish / COAH	Spring 2024
Gail Moore	Professor of Accounting / COB	Spring 2024
Josie Ryan	Professor of Mathematics / At-Large	Spring 2025
Ashley Lee	Associate Professor of Nursing / SON	Spring 2026