## **Lander University Committee Assignments**

Wednesday, September 20, 2023

## **Faculty Senate (2023-2024)**

Appointed By: Election Reports To NA (free-standing body)

## **ORGANIZATION**

- 1. The Faculty Senate shall be composed of senators representing the voting faculty of Lander University as defined in the bylaws of the Board of Trustees of Lander University, Chapter I, II.1. The president of the Student Government Association and the provost and vice president for academic affairs shall be *ex-officio* nonvoting members of the Faculty Senate.
- 2. The voting faculty of each academic unit (defined as a department, the library, or a college or school with no separate departments) shall elect one senator. The voting faculty of the university shall elect nine additional at-large senators serving staggered terms. Department chairs, assistant deans, deans of academic units, and the director of library services are not eligible to serve as senators representing their unit but may hold at-large positions if they are otherwise qualified.
- 3. A chair, chair-elect, and secretary shall be elected from among and by the senators to serve for a term of one year. [SOURCE: Faculty Handbook (Rev. 5/2020) Article II]

## **PURPOSE**

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to provide part of the means by which the faculty shall carry out the responsibilities set forth in the bylaws of the Lander University Board of Trustees, Chapter I, III.3.2(b) and Chapter I, III.3.2(c). In the event of real or apparent conflict between this constitution and the bylaws of the Board of Trustees, the bylaws of the Board of Trustees shall take precedence.

[SOURCE: Faculty Handbook (Rev. 5/2020) Article 1, Section 2]

| Member                         | Title / Role  | Term of Service |
|--------------------------------|---|-----------------|
| Emily Prince (Chair)           | Associate Professor of Biology / At-Large (COSM) / Chair                  | Spring 2024     |
| Sandy Singletary (Chair-Elect) | Associate Professor of Art / At-Large (COAH)                              | Spring 2026     |
| Casey Anthony                  | Discovery Librarian / Library and Institutional Services                  | Spring 2024     |
| Jeff Barfield                  | Assistant Professor of Physical Education & Exercise Science / PEES (COE) | Spring 2026     |
| Jim Colbert                    | Interim Provost & VPAA / Non-voting                                       | Ex Officio      |
| Whitney Craig                  | Assistant Professor of Chemistry / Physical Sciences (COSM)               | Spring 2024     |
| Elyse Donaubauer               | Assistant Professor of Biology / Biology (COSM) / Secretary               | Spring 2025     |
| Tess Gemberling                | Assistant Professor of Psychology / Psychology (COBSS)                    | Spring 2025     |
| Kerry Hansknecht               | Professor of Biology / At-Large (COSM)                                    | Spring 2025     |
| Jon Holloway                   | Professor of Art / COAH   | Spring 2024     |
| Kelli Horne                    | Assistant Professor of Accounting / Business (COB)                        | Spring 2025     |
| Walter Iriarte                 | Assistant Professor of Media & Communication / Mass Comm & Theater (COAH) | Spring 2026     |
| Robert Kelley                  | Professor of Music / Music (COAH)   | Spring 2026     |
| Crystal King                   | Assistant Professor of Nursing / Nursing (SON)                            | Spring 2026     |
| Sarah King                     | Assistant Professor of Criminology / Govt, Crim & Soc (COBSS)             | Spring 2025     |
| Trevor Leach                   | Assistant Professor of Mathematics / Mathematics & Computing (COSM)       | Spring 2026     |
| Jason Lee                      | Professor of Biology / At-Large (COSM)                                    | Spring 2026     |
| Andre Lubecke                  | Professor of Mathematics / At-Large (COSM)                                | Spring 2025     |
| Laura Martin                   | Assistant Professor of English / At-Large (COAH)                          | Spring 2024     |
| Carlos Mentley                 | Professor of Spanish / Parliamentarian                                    |                 |
| Kimberly Richburg              | Professor of Political Science / At-Large (COBSS)                         | Spring 2024     |

| Rachel Schiera    | Assistant Professor of Education / Teacher Education (COE)           | Spring 2025 |
|-------------------|--|-------------|
| Rachel Scoggins   | Assistant Professor of English / English and Foreign Language (COAH) | Spring 2024 |
| Dave Slimmer      | Professor of Physics / At-Large (COSM)                               | Spring 2026 |
| Kevin Witherspoon | Professor of History / History & Philosophy (COBSS)                  | Spring 2026 |
| Chase Worley      | Assistant Professor of Mathematics / At-Large (COSM)                 | Spring 2025 |
| Jasmine Sims      | SGA President / non-voting   | Ex Officio  |