Lander University Committee Assignments

Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Athletics Committee (2023-2024)

Appointed By: President

Reports To President

Membership

The Athletics Committee shall consist of four faculty members, including the faculty athletics representative, who serves as chair; two students; two alumni; the director of athletics; the senior woman athletics administrator; and the head coaches of all Lander University intercollegiate teams, who will be non-voting members. Faculty members, except the faculty athletic representative, shall serve for three years and shall be eligible for reappointment after one year has passed since the end of their previous appointment.

Function

The committee's purpose is to provide liaison among the students, faculty, and administration concerning the athletic program of the university. The committee will ensure that the philosophy and policies of the athletics program are in harmony with the institution's mission statement. The committee will also oversee athletic matters relating to institutional effectiveness, as mandated in the criteria stipulated by the Commission on Higher Education and on accreditation matters dictated by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Procedures

The Committee meets periodically at the call of its Chair to perform its function as stated above. The Committee reports to the President.

Member	Title / Role	Term of Service
David Zinn (Chair)	Assistant Professor of Sports Management / Faculty Athletics Representative	
Chris Ayer	Women's Soccer Coach (non-voting)	
Jeff Barfield	Assistant Professor of Physical Education & Exercise Science / Faculty Member	Spring 2024
Osvaldo Parrilla	Professor of Spanish / Faculty Member	Spring 2026
Brett Simpson	Men's Tennis Coach (non-voting)	
Melissa Thompson	Alumnus	
Chase Worley	Assistant Professor of Mathematics / Faculty Member	Spring 2026
Aaron King	Head Coach Men's & Women's Cross Country and Track & Field (non-voting)	
Billy Howard	Head Coach, Esports (non-voting)	
Bob Dachille	Women's Lacrosse Coach (non-voting)	
Brian Reese	Director of Athletics	
Buck Billings	Men's Rugby Coach (non-voting)	
Dale Parker	Men's Soccer Coach (non-voting)	
Dawn Turner	Deputy Athletic Director/SWA	
Drew Pridgen	Head Coach, Bass Fishing (non-voting)	
Elizabeth Bradley	Student	
Jamie Wilson	Associate Athletic Director of Student Athlete Success	
Jason Burke	Baseball Coach (non-voting)	
Jeffrey Reynolds	Volleyball Coach (non-voting)	
Jordan Jacobs	Head Coach, Strength & Conditioning (non-voting)	

Katherine (Kat) Finkbeiner	Alumnus
Ken Pape	Women's Rugby Coach (non-voting)
Kim Schoolfield	Head Coach, Cheerleading (non-voting)
Maddie Gibbs	Softball Coach (non-voting)
Mark Riddle	Men's and Women's Golf Coach (non-voting)
Omar Wattad	Men's Basketball Coach (non-voting)
RC LaHaye	Wrestling Coach (non-voting)
Robbert Schenk	Head Coach, Field Hockey (non-voting)
Samantha Pinchoff	Women's Tennis Coach (non-voting)
Sarah DiSpaltro	Acrobatics and Tumbling Coach (non-voting)
Sebastian Augustave	Student
Stephanie Gehlhausen	Women's Basketball Coach (non-voting)
Tony LePore	Men's Lacrosse Coach (non-voting)