Lander University Committee Assignments

Thursday, August 17, 2023

Advisory Committee on Individuals with Disabilities (2023-2024)

Appointed By: President Reports To President

Membership

The Advisory Committee on Individuals with Disabilities will consist of the director of human resources (or designee), chair; the director of engineering services; the vice president for student affairs; three members of the faculty; Benefits Manager; the advisor for students with disabilities; two students; a representative from the library; and the director of student health services. Faculty members shall serve for three years and shall be eligible for reappointment after one year has passed since the end of their previous appointment.

Function

The Committee provides counsel and suggestions to the University to aid in ensuring that the institution is providing equal opportunity accessibility to individuals with disabilities and/or impairments.

Procedures

The Committee meets periodically at the call of its Chair for the specific purposes of continuing to evaluate the facilities of the University to insure accessibility; to evaluate University policies and procedures within the parameters of the Committee's responsibility; to provide counsel to the University on any ADA-related issue; and to update, monitor, and fulfill Lander University's Transition Plan goals.

The Committee reports to the President.

Member	Title / Role	Term of Service
London Thomas (Chair)	Director, Office of Human Resources / Title IX Coordinator	Ex officio
Jeff Beaver	Director, Office of Engineering Services	Ex officio
Ann Butler	Senior Instructor of Biology / Faculty	Spring 2026
Carol Hoyle	Associate Professor of Education / Faculty	Spring 2025
Kim Shannon	Director, Student Wellness Center, Student Coordinator for Disabilities/ Advisory for Disabled Stude	Ex officio
Shana Southard-Dobbs	Associate Professor of Psychology / Faculty	Spring 2026
Jean Thrift	User Experience (UX) Librarian / Library Representative	Ex officio
Adam Weyer	Assistant Athletic Director	
Boyd Yarbrough	Vice President for Student Affairs	Ex officio
Cheryl Lewis	Benefits Manager	
Dena Gossett	Captain of Uniform Patrol / LUPD Rep. (Special Appointment by the President)	
Haven Manigault	Student (2)	
Kendall Gray	Student (1)	
Max Sargent	Safety Officer (Special Appointment by the President)	
Sam Abney	Director of Disability Services	Ex officio