Lander University Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate shall formulate policy on behalf of the faculty and shall serve as an advisory body to the President of the University. It shall have primary responsibility for recommending policy in matters of curriculum; subject matter and methods of instruction; tenure and promotion; academic freedom and due process; and those aspects of student life which relate to the educational process. It may consider all matters of University concern. Any member of the University community may bring a matter of University concern to the attention of the Senate.

The Faculty Senate shall be composed of Senators representing the voting faculty of Lander University. Each spring the voting faculty shall nominate and elect Faculty Senators to take office on the first day following the end of the spring semester during which the election is held. The term of office for each member of the Faculty Senate shall be three years. A Chair, Chair-elect, and Secretary shall be elected from among and by the Senators to serve for a term of one year.

Faculty Senate Officers

Academic Year Chair Chair-Elect Secretary
2016 - 2017
Jason Lee
Ashley Lee
April Akins
2015 - 2016
David Gardner
Paula Haynes
April Akins
2014 - 2015
Lee Vartanian
David Gardner
Jennifer Bond
2013 - 2014 Theresa Lawson Lee Vartanian Albert Dukes
2012 - 2013 Jonathan Bassett Theresa Lawson Cynthia Gardner
2011 - 2012 Niles, Nancy Bassett, Jonathan Adam Haigh
2010 - 2011 Ouzts, Paige Niles, Nancy Jameson, Misty
2009 - 2010 Maze, TD Ouzts, Paige Tolbert, Sam
2008 - 2009 Paquette, Jean Maze, TD Morgan, Amber
2007 - 2008 Tolbert, Sam Paquette, Jean Maze, TD
2006 - 2007 Acorn, Deborah Hale, Sandra Dove, Kevin
2005 - 2006 Hawkins, Jerald Acorn, Deborah DuPont, Timothy
2004 - 2005 Sridharan, Uma Hawkins, Jerald Moore, John
2003 - 2004 Daugherty, Bernice Sridharan, Uma Moore, John (01/04 - 05/04)
Layland, Ralph (08/04 - 01/04)
2002 - 2003 Snyder, Tim Daugherty, Bernice Layland, Ralph
2001 - 2002 Going, Susan Snyder, Tim Dumont-Poston, Virginia
2000 - 2001 Whitsitt, Julia Going, Susan Sommerfeld, David
1999 - 2000 White, Bruce Whitsitt, Julia Sonntag, Michael
1998 - 1999 Scales, Carol White, Bruce Acorn, Deborah
1997 - 1998 Runyan, Michael Scales, Carol Dumont-Poston, Virginia
1996 - 1997 Henderson, David Runyan, Michael Dumont-Poston, Virginia
1995 - 1996 Wilson, Jerome Henderson, David Going, Susan
1994 - 1995 Blitch, Pattie Wilson, Jerome Barnes, Betsy
1993 - 1994 White, Bruce Blitch, Pattie Going, Susan