Members of the Diversity Advisory Council advise not only the President’s Cabinet but also Faculty Senate, Staff Senate and student groups, as needed, on the important role that diversity plays in helping Lander University carry out its mission. Members of the Council have the opportunity to greatly influence and effect positive change on campus for many years to come.

Appointees’ primary role is representative. All appointees are to represent the diversity interests of the Lander Community. Some appointees are also official representatives of a division or group. Members are encouraged to be magnanimous in their advocacy for all of Lander’s diversity interests.

Council Appointees and Roles


  • Appointed by the Council.
  • Facilitates the council’s agenda, discussions and focus on objectives.

Council Liaison

  • Appointed by Council.
  • Primary spokesperson for the Council.

Administrative Support

  • Provides administrative and communications support to the committee. Takes minutes of meetings. Keeps a record of the Council’s work. Helps with event and communications planning

Council Representatives

Individual Representatives

Crystal Rookard

Crystal Rookard (Chair)

General Council

Holisa Wharton

Dean, School of Nursing

Pedro Lopes

Pedro J. Lopes

Associate Professor of Spanish

Gilliean Lee

Associate Professor of Computing

DeCole Robertson

DeCole Shoemate Robertson

Assistant Women's Basketball Coach

Olgethia Louden IMG_0542

Olgethia Louden

Administrative Specialist, Financial Aid

McCaslan, Keith

Keith McCaslan

Instructional Technology Consultant

STF Allen Greg SP16 LMB_8937s

Greg Allen

Captain, Lander University Police Department

F. Asma Nazim-Starnes

Fathima A. Nazim-Starnes

Assistant Professor of Art

London Thomas

London Thomas

Benefits Specialist

Functionary Representatives

Albert Dukes

Albert Dukes III

Faculty Senate Chair

Associate Professor of Chemistry

James Colbert

Jim Colbert

Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Mike Ficklin

Mike Ficklin

Staff Senate Chair

Systems Programmer/Developer, Information Technology Services

Jeannie McCallum

Human Resources Director

Wesley Hamilton IMG_0550

Wesley Hamilton

President, Student Government Association

Boyd Yarbrough

Boyd Yarbrough

Vice President for Student Affairs

Denise Manley

Denise Manley

Executive Director for Alumni Affairs

Sadie Erwin

Sadie Erwin (Administrative Support)

Executive Assistant to the President

Jeff Constant

Jeff Constant

Associate Director of Admissions/Director of International Credentials

Community Representatives

Darrell Johnson (2)

Darrell Johnson

Superintendent, Greenwood School District 50
Phone: (864) 941-5400

Welborn Adams IMG_0536

Welborn Adams

Mayor, City of Greenwood, S.C.

Floyd Nicholson-4228

Floyd Nicholson

S.C. Senator (Dist. 10)

Theo Lane

Theo Lane

District Manager - Government & Community Relations Duke Energy (South Carolina)