News Releases

Lander University business students receive McFerrin scholarships

May 01, 2013
business scholarshipsEight Lander University business administration students have been awarded the Jean T. McFerrin Scholarship, established in 1988 by Jean and Cecil McFerrin. Jean McFerrin, a 1948 Lander graduate, maintained close ties with her alma mater and held numerous positions with the Alumni Association, The Lander Foundation and the Board of Trustees. The scholarships are awarded annually to students majoring in the field of business, and selection criteria include academic merit and leadership potential. Pictured, front row from left, are: Lander's Dr. Robert Barrett, dean, College of Business and Public Affairs; Diondria Brownlee, of Anderson; Emily Ashley, of Honea Path; Rebecca Gibson, of North Augusta; and Jackie Harvin, of Glen Allen, Va. Second row, from left, are: Daniel Clark, of Dergheim, Germany; Oscar Axelsson, of Smalandsstenar, Sweden; Adam Jonsson, of Umea, Sweden; and Timm Hocke, of Stahnsdorf, Germany.