News Releases

Lander students inducted into Alpha Chi to recognize outstanding academic achievement

May 03, 2010

Family and friends gathered at Lander University on April 22 to witness the spring induction of 40 Lander students into the university's Alpha Chi National College Honor Scholarship Society.

Dr. John Moore, associate professor of philosophy and the Alpha Chi faculty coordinator, said the students who were inducted are juniors or seniors in the top 10 percent of their class with grade point averages between 3.64 and 4.0.

University president Daniel Ball told the assembled students and guests, "This ceremony recognizes the really fine academic achievements of our top students."

Lander's Alpha Chi chapter was established in 1957 and is one of about 300 chapters in the United States and Puerto Rico. Nationwide, nearly 400,000 members have been inducted into the honor society since its beginning in 1922.

At the ceremony, each student signed a registry and was presented an Alpha Chi medallion by one of the deans of Lander's four colleges.

The 2010 inductees include:
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND HUMANITIES---Paula Birch of Fairfax, English; Kayla Blackwell of Greenwood, mass communication; Jennifer Brailsford of Greer, English; Brent Delgado of Abbeville, history; Elizabethe Johnson of Greenwood, visual arts; Stanhope Ligon of Ninety Six, history; and Margaret Teal of Darlington, mass communication.

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS---Jeremy Babb of North Augusta, political science; Jeffrey Bailey of Greenville, political science; Kelly Coen of Simpsonville, business administration; Piers deGruchy of England, business administration; Jovan Dungee of Greenville, political science; Casey Hyman of Abbeville, political science; Casey Lewis of Pelzer, business administration; Jeffrey Maxwell of Greenville, criminal justice; Meredith Milner of Abbeville, business administration; Dillon Robertson of Abbeville, business administration; Sherry Smith of Honea Path, business administration; and Andrew Willis of Williston, political science.

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION---Julie Amerson of Greenwood, early childhood education; Sharon Buchanan of Simpsonville, psychology; Catherine Corley of Clinton, early childhood education; David DeCarlo of Greenwood, psychology; Kristin Kneece of Saluda, elementary education; Emmi Lyytikainen of Finland, exercise science; Laura New of Abbeville, elementary education; Amber Scates of Greenwood, elementary education; Haley Scott of Easley, special education; and Lindsay Thompson of Saluda, elementary education.

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS---Kayla Hanks of Honea Path, nursing; Jessica Hall of Whitmire, nursing; Andrew LaCroix of Lyman, biology; Stephanie Morris of Newberry, nursing; Patrick Price of Belton, biology; and Kayla Rodgers of Saluda, nursing.