Academic Success Center Staff

Coleman, GayGay S. Coleman
Director of the Academic Success Center

Genesis Hall Room 16
864-388-8317
gcoleman@lander.edu

A 1976 Lander graduate (Mathematics), Ms. Coleman taught math at Piedmont Technical College before becoming the first full-time Math Lab Manager at Lander in 1982.  She earned a M.ED in Educational Research in 1989 from USC and is ABD for a PhD in Higher Education and Leadership with a Cognate in Statistics from Clemson.  Ms. Coleman has been the Director of the ASC since 1994 and has enjoyed teaching and advising students for nearly 35 years.

Polatty, CalebCaleb Polatty
Tutoring Coordinator

Genesis Hall Room 7
864-388-8814
cpolatty@lander.edu

Bethea, GavinGavin A. Bethea
Academic Advising Coordinator

Genesis Hall Room 3
864-388-8067
gbethea@lander.edu

Although I am a native of Greenwood, SC, I did not grow up here during the first years of my life.  Our dad served honorably in the U.S. Army, which afforded our family the opportunity to travel the world with him.  Because of this wonderful experience, I believe that I have been able to relate to everyone who has and will step foot into my office. 

I am a proud 1990 graduate of Lander University.  Prior to me joining the ASC staff in 2010, I worked at Piedmont Technical College in their Upward Bound (TRiO) program and, then later, with their Admissions Office.  Soon after, I was blessed with the opportunity to work for my alma mater and join its Admissions Office Team a in May of 1994, and have been with Lander University ever since.  I believe whole heartedly that my calling in life is to help and uplift others. 

It brings me personal satisfaction, pride and pleasure when I am able to place smiles on the faces of others and, then later, see our students walk across the stage to receive their four-year bachelor degrees and for them to hear the words “you may now flip your tassels to the left”.   

Go Bearcats!

Lawrence, AnissaAnissa Lawrence
Administrative Specialist

Genesis Hall Room 5
864-388-8915
alawrence@lander.edu

Nugent, PatrickPatrick Nugent
Academic Success Advisor

Academic Success Center
Genesis Hall
864-388-8922
jnugent@lander.edu

O'Donnell, BeccaBecca O’Donnell
Academic Success Advisor

Academic Success Center
Genesis Hall
864-388-8924
rodonnell@lander.edu

Parks, SarahSarah Parks
Academic Success Advisor

Academic Success Center
Genesis Hall
864-388- 8923
sparks@lander.edu