News Item

Lander students inducted into Alpha Chi Honor Society

December 02, 2016

Dozens of college students and their loved ones filled a campus meeting space on Monday, Nov. 28, to participate in an academic ritual that has been going on at Lander University for nearly 60 years.

Deans from each of Lander’s academic colleges, garbed in regalia, signaled the procession of 54 of the university’s most accomplished achievers into the room where their friends and family waited.

“The building of tomorrow’s leaders in science, medicine, education, humanities, the arts and the law never stops,” said Dr. David Mash, provost and vice president of Academic Affairs, as he welcomed everyone to the induction ceremony of Lander’s chapter of the Alpha Chi National Honor Society. “And Lander is very proud to have played a part in helping them lay the groundwork for their future careers.”

Headed by Dr. John Moore, professor of philosophy and faculty adviser to Alpha Chi, the ceremony included reciting the organization’s pledge and a presentation of medallions to each inductee by the deans representing the colleges of Arts and Humanities, Business and Public Affairs, Education, Science and Mathematics; and the William Preston Turner School of Nursing.

Founded in 1922, Alpha Chi is an academic honor society that admits students ranking in the top 10 percent of their class from all academic disciplines. The organization takes its name from the Greek letters for ‘truth’ and ‘character,’ honoring both academic achievement and personal integrity.

Lander’s chapter, chartered in 1957, was the first to be established in the state and bears the distinction of being known as the ‘Alpha Chapter of South Carolina.’ The chapter has been recognized as a ‘Star Chapter’ for the last four years.

Alpha Chi Inductees Fall 2016

Lander University recognized its highest academic achieving students during an induction ceremony for the Alpha Chi Honor Society. To qualify, students must be juniors or seniors who rank in the top 10 percent of their class. The 2016 inductees are:

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND HUMANITIES: Leah Applewhite; Monica Cleland; Lauren Locke; Michelle Naranjo Tabares; Nicholas Nowark; Rebecca Snelgrove; and Bobby Suit.

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS: Charles Baron; Braden Cook; Harriet Jessica Greenhough; Hongxi Lu; Hannah Madden; Emily Rodgers; and David Westberry.

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION: Brooke Bouknight; Sarah Bradley; Samuelyn Brown; Rebecca Bruce; Clay Bryant; Sunni Carwile; Ashton Casey; Jahleesa Coatie; Kathleen Davenport; Latisha Dewalt; Christina Franklin; Ashley Giordano; Savannah Lewis; Joshua Malek; Emily Marousek; Sara Owen; Kathryn Porter; Allison Roberson; Chanel Sanders; Jessica Sherfield; Kristen Spires; and Ari-Elle West.

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS: Andrew Akins; Rossana Cubillan; Lillian Martin; Suzie Pace; Payton Rogers; Zhelun Rong; Dylan Scott; Lori Smith; and Sarah Snowden.

WILLIAM PRESTON TURNER SCHOOL OF NURSING: Ashlee Bennett; Tonya Bledsoe; Barbara Bradford; Mary Drake; Carly Graber; Lauren Haynes; Sara Howe; Megan McJunkin; and Kimberly White.