News Item

Lander students take part in S.C. Student Legislature

November 04, 2015

Lander University was one of the schools represented when students gathered in Columbia to participate in the South Carolina Student Legislature (SCSL), an exercise that mirrors the work of the General Assembly. From Oct. 21-24, the students occupied the House and Senate chambers, where they took part in debates on a wide range of legislative proposals.  

Dr. Chad Kinsella, assistant professor of political science at Lander, said the event is held twice a year and is student-driven. Ten students from Lander took part: Ettele Toole, of Evans, Ga., who is featured on the SCSL web site: Also participating were Jennifer Vassy, of Gaffney; Parysh Washington, of Summerville; Jasime Colbert, of Moore; Brandon Edwards, of Mauldin; Walter Johnson, of Greenville; Luke Harris, of Greer; Josh Myers, of Greenwood; Kyle Johnson, of Lexington; and Jaquin Derrick, of Batesburg, who was elected President Pro Tem of the Senate.

Derrick is the second Lander student chosen for a leadership position at the event. Kimberly Modica was elected Speaker of the House at last year's session.

Kinsella said it was a good experience for the students. They were responsible for correctly writing and submitting legislation and following the intricacies of parliamentary procedure. The mock legislature is held in the fall and spring semesters, and participating students are all from South Carolina schools.

Students founded the SCSL in 1956 and they also run the annual sessions. Its mission is to educate students about the functions of democratic government and to provide a forum for them to debate public policy issues.

 2015 Fall student legislature delegates resize

Lander University students gather on the steps of the State House in Columbia, where they took part in the S.C. Student Legislature. Front row, from left: Ettele Toole, Jennifer Vassy, Parysh Washington and Jasime Colbert. Middle row, from left: Dr. Chad Kinsella, assistant professor of political science at Lander; Brandon Edwards, Walter Johnson and Luke Harris. Back row, from left: Josh Myers, Kyle Johnson and Jaquin Derrick.