Film Competition Winners

Each Spring, Lander University hosts its short film competition. The competition challenges high school, college and open division entrants to submit a completed film between three and five minutes long. The filmmakers only have a week to complete their films and they are required to use a prop and a line provided by competition coordinators to ensure that films were not part of a previous project. Many films are submitted each year, but in the end, only a handful of filmmakers find themselves at the top of the list. Take a look at some of the competition winners, and see what made them rise to the top.

2011 Winners

First Place, College Division
Director: Barrett Langford

The Sniper
First Place, High School Division
Director: Matt Anderson

The Follow Up
First Place, Open Division
Director: Greg Thomas

The Creative Process
Second Place, College Division
Director: John Ridlehoover

Third Place, College Division
Director: Ethan Wells

Hamburger Time
Honorable Mention, College Division
Director: Tim Thomas

The Switch
Honorable Mention, Open Division
Director: Daniel Forster

Other Winning Films